Every Third Municipality Has Had Same Leader for Over a Decade ({{commentsTotal}})


A third of the heads of the nation's 226 local governments have held their posts for at least ten years and a sixth have occupied the office for at least 15 years, a newspaper has reported.

The statistics, which were collected and published by Postimees in anticipation of next month's nationwide municipal elections, also show that five municipal leaders who have put their names forward again this time around have held local office since before 1990.

A number of local politicians have successfully run in more than one municipality and a few have left office for a period only to be re-elected later. 

As a number of municipalities are administratively merging in conjunction with the elections, the nation will soon have only 215 local governments.

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long


Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: news@err.ee