Savisaar Officially Re-Confirmed as Mayor of Tallinn ({{commentsTotal}})

Four more years Source: Photo: Postimees/Scanpix

As most experts predicted before last month's municipal elections, current mayor and Center Party leader Edgar Savisaar has been officially confirmed as the 'next' mayor of Tallinn, receiving 46 votes from the 79-seat city council, which also voted to keep the same government.

Opposition councilmen asked to be allowed to question Savisaar before the vote, but were rebuffed, ETV reported on Thursday.

IRL's Eerik-Niiles Kross, who led the campaign to topple Savisaar in the local elections, said that he had expected at least a pretense of democracy, but that the ban on questions was comically tragic.

Taavi Aas, Kalle Klandorf, Mihhail Kõlvart, Merike Martinson, Arvo Sarapuu and Eha Võrk, all Center Party members, will all continue to serve on the city's government.

The Center Party increased its majority in the city council elections by two seats to reach 46. IRL won 16 seats (13 in 2009), the Reform Party nine (14) and the Social Democrats eight (8).

The Center Party and the Social Democrats formed a coalition, despite the Center Party's majority, after the 2009 elections. That union lasted a year before the minority partner left in protest over a scandal involving Savisaar's Russian funding ties.

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Independence Day: Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: