2013's 'Friend' and 'Enemy' of the Press Named ({{commentsTotal}})

The Estonian Newspapers Association today declared Kristi Liiva, the founder of the Opinion Festival, the 2013 Friend of the Press, while naming recently resigned culture minister Rein Lang this year's Foe of the Press.

It is the third time Lang, who is himself a former member of the press, has been given the title of shame, reported Postimees. Lang recently stepped down over a scandal at a culture publication.

The Opinion Festival, held for the first time this summer, brought together public figures and ordinary citizens in an event celebrating civic activism.

It was the 20th year that the Newspaper Association has given out the titles. The Friend of the Press will be presented a handcrafted megaphone.

Past Friends and Enemies
2012 Friend: State Prosecutor Heili Sepp, Enemy: Justice Minister Kristen Michal
2011 Friend: Helve Särgava, Enemy: Eesti Ski Association
2010 Friend: Allar Jõks, Enemy: Toomas Hendrik Ilves
2009 Friend: Andres Arrak, Enemy: Rein Lang
2008 Friend: Ivari Padar, Enemy: Urmas Kukk
2007 Friend: Juhan Kivirähk, Enemy: Andrus Ansip
2006 Friend: Aadu Luukas (posthumously), Enemy: Enn Pant
2005 Friend: Tõnis Lepp, Enemy: Andres Lipstok
2004 Friend: Marko Pomerants, Enemy: Rein Lang
2003 Friend: Mati Alaver, Enemy: Peeter Tali
2002 Friend: Allar Jõksi, Enemy: Heiki Kranich
2001 Friend: Ingrid Rüütel, Enemy: Mart Laar
2000 Friend: Ivar Tallo, Enemy: Toivo Jürgenson
1999 Friend: Jüri Mõis, Enemy: Lennart Meri
1998 Friend: Lennart Meri, Enemy: Olari Taal
1997 Friend: Paul Varul, Enemy: Robert Lepikson
1996 Friend: Tunne Kelam, Enemy: Tiit Made
1995 Friend: Siim Kallas, Enemy: Edgar Savisaar
1994 Friend: Mart Laar, Enemy: Lennart Meri