State Culture and Sports Awards Announced ({{commentsTotal}})

Composer Erkki-Sven Tüür
Composer Erkki-Sven Tüür Source: Photo: Postimees/Scanpix

The government announced the winners of national cultural and sports prizes on Thursday, rewarding artists and athletes for their work in the past year as well as for lifetime work.

The laureates for the five annual prizes were opera singer Ain Anger, glass artist Ivo Lill, textile designer Anu Raud, translator Mati Sirkel and composer Erkki-Sven Tüür, reported.

Prizes for life work were awarded to composer Ester Mägi, documentary film maker and TV director Toivo-Peep Puks and painter Enn Põldroos.

The three received 64,000 euros each.

The government also awarded sports awards to 16 people, including lifetime achievement awards for sports organiser and promoter Heino Jeret and basketball player and coach Jaak Salumets, reported.

Annual prizes for 2013 were awarded to mountain bike orienteer Tõnis Erm, sports shooters Anžela Voronova and Peeter Olesk, and promoter Tarmo Volt. Additionally, team awards went to the coaches of the female épée team and the Estonian powerboating team.

The sports lifetime achievement award comes with 40,000 euros and the six annual prizes are 9,600 euros each.

The awards will be presented to the winners on 24 February in the Endla Theater in Pärnu.