New Government Brings a Dozen New MPs ({{commentsTotal}})

Parliament Source: (Postimees/Scanpix)

IRL ministers will now take their seats in Parliament, having been swapped for the Social Democrats in a coalition with the Reform Party.

Former ministers Jaak Aaviksoo (education), Siim Valmar Kiisler (regional affairs), Juhan Parts (economy), Urmas Reinsalu (defense), Helir-Valdor Seeder (agriculture) and Ken-Marti Vaher (interior) will all become members of Parliament again today.

Former MP Andrus Ansip will also take a seat in Parliament.

Social Democrats' Andres Anvelt, Helmen Kütt, Sven Mikser, Jevgeni Ossinovski and Urve Palo all left Parliament to take other positions, and will be replaced by Barbi-Jenny Pilvre-Storgard, Katrin Saks, Kairit Pihlak, Etti Kagarov and Tiit Tammsaar.

Ülo Tulik, Andre Sepp, Kaja Kreisman, Juku-Kalle Raid, Mart Nutt, Andres Jalak and Siim Kabrits will all step down to make room for the Ansip and the other IRL heavyweights.

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.