Spanish Architects Win Arvo Pärt Center Competition ({{commentsTotal}})


Out of the 20 architectural firms vying for the honor of designing the Arvo Pärt Center, Spanish firm Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos SLP was selected by the jury.

The winning entry titled “Tabula” was announced by President Toomas Hendrik Ilves at the Museum of Estonian Architecture today, the Arvo Pärt Center announced today.

Brad Cloepfil’s firm Allied Works Architecture placed second and Estonian firm Kavakava, best known for the new building of the University of Tarty Narva College placed third. The shortlist included architects from 11 different nations, including award-winning Zaha Hadid and seven firms from Estonia.

An exhibition showcasing all the contest entries will be on display at the Museum of Estonian Architecture until 31 August 2014.

“Tabula” creates a harmonious and flexible environment for Arvo Pärt’s music. What deserves to be singled out in particular about this contest entry is its spatial arrangement and thoroughly considered thematic lighting,” Michael Pärt, chairman of the jury and Arvo Pärt’s son, commented on the design by Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos.

The center will be built on the Lohusalu peninsula in Laulasmaa, some 30 kilometers west of Tallinn, with the grandopening scheduled for 2018, the centenary of the Republic of Estonia.


+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Independence Day: Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.