Hodgson Announces England Squad For Estonian Euro Match ({{commentsTotal}})

England's coach Roy Hodgson has announced his lineup for the 2016 UEFA European Championship qualifying matches against Estonia and San Marino.

Hodgson has handed a first call-up to Southampton defender Nathaniel Clyne; Arsenal's defender Kieran Gibbs and Swansea City's midfielder Jonjo Shelvey have been named to the squad.

However, Hodgson has only named three forwards. Daniel Sturridge, the Liverpool striker and World Cup starter, has been left off the squad, which according to the UK Telegraph, is due to a conflict between his club and Hodgson over how much rest Sturridge would receive following the qualifying games.

The England squad

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Clyne (Southampton), Kieran Gibbs (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), John Stones (Everton)

Midfielders: Fabian Delph (Aston Villa), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Jonjo Shelvey
(Swansea City), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Welbeck (Arsenal)

The match with Estonia will take place on October 12 at 19:00 Estonian time.