President Ilves calls general election, 2015 ({{commentsTotal}})


Estonian President Toomas Hendrik Ilves today signed the resolution to proclaim the elections for the 13th Riigikogu on March 1, 2015.

Currently, there are four parties represented at the Estonian Parliament: Estonian Reform Party (33 members), Estonian Centre Party (20) Pro Patria and Res Publica Union, otherwise known as IRL (22), and Social Democratic Party (19).

The national electoral committee will divide the mandates between the electoral districts. Once it's done, the candidates can register until January 15, 2015. The electoral committee has to register all the candidates that meet the required criteria by January 20.

People can submit their votes from February 19 onwards and the election day is on March 1, 2015.

The Estonian media has predicted one of the most exciting election campaigns ever, with the possible result currently almost unpredictable.

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: