IRL first to unveil election lists ({{commentsTotal}})

IRL is the first major political party to publish its full list of candidates for the March 1 national elections, with Ken-Marti Vaher, Viktoria Ladõnskaja and Urmas Reinsalu taking the top slots in Tallinn's three districts.

The party's candidate for the Prime Minister seat, Juhan Parts, will head the campaign in the joint district of Harju and Rapla counties, which has the largest number of mandates at 14.

Besides Ladõnskaja, IRL has promoted a number of other fresh members to head electoral districts including Raivo Aeg in Saare, Hiiu and Lääne counties, Anvar Samost in Ida Viru County and Maire Aunaste in Põlva, Valga and Võru counties.

Other notable candidates include Juku-Kalle Raid, not a party member, but was a IRL MP the last time around, winning over 1,000 votes in 2011. Popular singer Evelin Samuel will run in the Mustamäe and Nõmme joint district, Aivar Riisalu, a former high-profile Center Party member, is fifth in the Harju and Rapla constituency, where MPs Reet Roos and Toomas Tõniste are in last place. Joel Luhamets, a deeply conservative Lutheran Church leader, will run in the Jõgeva and Tartu joint electoral area, former Parliament Speaker Ene Ergma has been named to run in Tartu and MEP Tunne Kelam is also on the list, running in Ida Viru County. The last two names are highly unlikely to enter Parliament, especially as Ergma recently announced retirement from politics.

IRL has named a total of 121 candidates for the 101 MP spots. Read the full list here.

Easter Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting productionEaster Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting production
Estonia’s Easter Monday time loop: Discussing an additional day off

Every year, Estonia reliably asks itself the question whether or not Easter Monday should be made a public holiday. Opinions differ. While one side emphasizes the importance of family time, the other thinks an additional day off would threaten economic growth.

Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).
Samost: Kaia Iva’s charisma could help IRL out of long-term low

In Sunday’s “Samost ja Rumm” radio debate show, editor-in-chief of ERR’s online news, Anvar Samost, and journalist and former politician Hannes Rumm discussed the potential and actual candidates for the chairmanship of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL). At the time of the broadcast, Helir-Valdor Seeder had not yet made his intention to run public.