Curly Strings makes a clean sweep at Estonian Music Awards ({{commentsTotal}})

The Estonian folk band Curly Strings goes home with most important awards at the annual Estonian music industry awards ceremony.

Curly Strings, consisting of Eeva Talsi (fiddle, vocal), Villu Talsi (mandolin, vocal), Jalmar Vabarna (guitar, vocal), Taavet Niller (double bass, vocal), debuted just last year. Playing a folk-infused, energetic, violin-heavy, catchy tunes, the band won over the Estonian music market last year, their debut "Üle Ilma" becoming a best-seller.

Curly Strings won an Estonian Music Award in four categories: Best Album, Best Band, Best Debut Album, and Best Song.

An alternative dance artist Maria Minerva who has resided in London and New York for many years and has a cult following over there, was a somewhat surprise winner, notching up two awards: Best Female Artist and Best Electronica Album.

Dance-folk band Trad.Attack! also won in two categories: Best Etno/Folk Album and Best Video.

The ambitious award ceremony, presented by Eda-Ines Etti and Ott Lepland, saw performances by Tanja, Ewert & The Two Dragons, Curly Strings, Karl-Erik Taukar, Elephants From Neptune, Genka & Paul Oja and Getter Jaani and Risto Vürst.

Estonian Music Awards Winners 2015

Best Album - Curly Strings "Üle ilma“

Best Band - Curly Strings "Üle ilma“

Best Debut Album - Curly Strings "Üle ilma“

Best Male Artist - Karl-Erik Taukar "Vääramatu jõud“

Best Female Artist - Maria Minerva "Histrionic“

Best Classical Album - Galina Grigorjeva. In paradisum. Estonian National Male Choir, conductor Mikk Üleoja

Best Jazz Album - Estonian Voices "Ole hea“

Best Etno/Folk Album – Trad.Attack! "Trad.Attack!“

Best Electronica Album - Maria Minerva "Histrionic“

Best Alternative/Indie Album - Vaiko Eplik 7 "Nõgesed“

Best Metal Album – Metsatöll "Karjajuht“

Best Rock Album - Elephants From Neptune "Pressure & Pleasure“

Best Pop Album - Karl-Erik Taukar "Vääramatu jõud“

Best Video - Trad.Attack! "Kuukene“ (director Martti Helde)

Best Song - Curly Strings "Kauges külas“ (Authors: Eeva Talsi/Kristiina Ehin)

Best HipHop/Rap Album - Genka / Paul Oja "Genka / Paul Oja“

Lifetime Contribution Award - Jaak Joala (posthumously)



Editor: S. Tambur

Easter Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting productionEaster Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting production
Estonia’s Easter Monday time loop: Discussing an additional day off

Every year, Estonia reliably asks itself the question whether or not Easter Monday should be made a public holiday. Opinions differ. While one side emphasizes the importance of family time, the other thinks an additional day off would threaten economic growth.

Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).
Samost: Kaia Iva’s charisma could help IRL out of long-term low

In Sunday’s “Samost ja Rumm” radio debate show, editor-in-chief of ERR’s online news, Anvar Samost, and journalist and former politician Hannes Rumm discussed the potential and actual candidates for the chairmanship of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL). At the time of the broadcast, Helir-Valdor Seeder had not yet made his intention to run public.