Rõivas breaks personal vote record, but how did other ministers fare? ({{commentsTotal}})

Prime Minister Taavi Rõivas increased his vote total from 6,710 four years ago to 15,862, still a long way from Edgar Savisaar this year (25,071) and Andrus Ansip in 2011 (18,967).

Besides Rõivas, few candidates who have held ministerial posts since 2011 managed to significantly increase their vote numbers. The Reform Party's Kristen Michal, despite being blamed for Silvergate, more than doubled his vote intake, as did Education Minister Jevgeni Ossinovski (Social Dems). Jürgen Ligi (Reform), forced to resign as finance minister last year, also saw a spike in support.

In the “losers” end of the table, all IRL ministers between 2011-2014 lost votes compared to four years ago, as did Reform's Foreign Minister Keit Pentus-Rosimannus (over 3,000 fewer votes) and Defense Minister Sven Mikser (SDE, minus 2,500) and Urve Palo (SDE, minus 3,000 votes).

Here is the breakdown of the current government ministers' results with 2011 vote total in parentheses.

Taavi Rõivas, Reform, PM, former social affairs minister, 15,862 (6,710)
Sven Mikser, Social Democrat, current defense minister, 4,962 (7,431)
Mati Raidma, Reform, current environment minister, 959 (1,699)
Urve Tiidus, Reform, current culture minister, 4,114 (3,123)
Maris Lauri, Reform, current finance minister, 4,019, did not run in 2011
Helmen Kütt, Social Democrat, current social protection minister, 3,816 (1,693)
Ivari Padar, Social Democrat, current agriculture minister, 3,992 (3,227)
Urmas Kruuse, Reform, current health and work minister, 5,962 (6,824)
Andres Anvelt, Social Democrat, current justice minister, 3,558 (3,441)
Urve Palo, Social Democrat, current economy minister, 2,023 (5,875)
Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Reform, current foreign minister, former environment minister, 5,717 (8,784)
Anne Sulling, Reform, current minister of trade and business, 4,197, did not run in 2011
Hanno Pevkur, Reform, current interior minister, 3,816 (3,784)
Jevgeni Ossinovski, Social Democrat, current education minister, 2,787 (1,578)

The vote counts for Ansip's government between April 2011 and March 2014 (again, 2011 results in brackets):

Andrus Ansip, Reform, former PM, did not run in 2015 (18,967)
Jaak Aaviksoo, IRL, former education minister, 1,406 (3,484)
Kristen Michal, Reform, former justice minister, 4,765 (2,062)
Mart Laar, IRL, former defense minister, did not run in 2015 (9,541)
Urmas Reinsalu, IRL, former defense minister, 2,950 (5,055)
Rein Lang, Reform, former culture minister, did not run in 2015 (3,922)
Juhan Parts, IRL, former economy minister, 4,200 (6,608)
Helir-Valdor Seeder, IRL, former agriculture minister, 2,909 (4,479)
Jürgen Ligi, Reform, former finance minister, 6,758 (5,043)
Siim Valmar Kiisler, IRL, former regional affairs minister, 556 (1,388)
Ken-Marti Vaher, IRL, former interior minister, 2,313 (5,412)
Urmas Paet, Reform, former foreign minister, 7,870 (10,779)

Editor: J.M. Laats