Tallinn Music Week presents seven Estonian artists at Positivus festival ({{commentsTotal}})

The biggest indoor music festival in the Nordic-Baltic region, Tallinn Music Week, will present seven Estonian artists at Positivus festival, taking place in Salacgrīva, Latvia from July 17-19. All the seven acts will perform at Tallinn Music Week and Palladium music club joint stage. Altogether, 13 Estonian acts have been announced to play at Positivus this year.

As always, Tallinn Music Week’s program concentrates on fresh-sounding up-and-coming artists.

Saturday, July 18 will kick off with Estonian-Swedish electronic/jazz group Miamee, followed by one of the most successful newcomers in Estonian music scene, folky Curly Strings. The last Estonian act to take the TMW/Palladium stage on Saturday will be the leading Russian language hiphop crew Gorq Lana.

On Sunday, July 19, Cirkl with her weirdly balanced mixture of R’n’B, indie-pop and jazz, will start the day. Next on are acclaimed indie-rockers from Tallinn Daggers and adventurous art-pop trio Badass Yuki. Finally, Lexsoul Dancemachine will take to the stage.

In addition to these seven acts, I Love You stage will host the Estonian artists Galvanic Elephants, Würffel, Zebra Island, Sibyl Vane and The Werg. Gracing the line-up are also Ewert and The Two Dragons, currently touring with their latest release “Circles”.

In co-operation with online store 311.ee, Tallinn Music Week will also be hosting an Estonian music tent, open on all three festival days on Positivus’ main shopping street.

Tallinn Music Week and Positivus festival have been collaborating for years to bring the best new music from the region to international audiences.

The 9th Positivus Music Festival will take place on July 17-19 in Salacgrīva, Zvejnieku Park, Latvia.

This year's line-up includes Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters, Placebo, Kasabian, Warpaint, St.Vincent, Basement Jaxx, Tom Odell, Jungle, Charli XCX, Lamb, Vök, Jennie Abrahamson, Rangleklods, East India Youth, Indiana, Super Besse, Alise Joste and many others.

Editor: M. Oll

Easter Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting productionEaster Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting production
Estonia’s Easter Monday time loop: Discussing an additional day off

Every year, Estonia reliably asks itself the question whether or not Easter Monday should be made a public holiday. Opinions differ. While one side emphasizes the importance of family time, the other thinks an additional day off would threaten economic growth.

Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).
Samost: Kaia Iva’s charisma could help IRL out of long-term low

In Sunday’s “Samost ja Rumm” radio debate show, editor-in-chief of ERR’s online news, Anvar Samost, and journalist and former politician Hannes Rumm discussed the potential and actual candidates for the chairmanship of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL). At the time of the broadcast, Helir-Valdor Seeder had not yet made his intention to run public.