USA, EU sanctions against Russia expanded ({{commentsTotal}})

The United States has added 26 new names on its sanctions list, and six nations have joined EU's sanctions against Russia.

EU foreign affairs representative Federica Mogherini said six nations have signed up for EU sanctions against Russia for its role in the events in Ukraine.

The six nations are EU candidate nations Montenegro and Albania, European Free Trade Association members Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, and also Ukraine itself.

The new US list includes two businessmen with Finnish citizenship, Kai Paananen and Roman Rotenberg. The latter co-owns a popular Finnish ice hokey team.

US assets of the 11 individuals and 15 companies will be frozen and US companies are no longer permitted to do business with them.

US authorities said the new additions to the sanction's list are aimed to guarantee that current sanctions work, not as a retaliation to any new events in Ukraine. Half of the new entries have been added after they helped others already on the list to avoid sanctions.

Editor: J.M. Laats

Easter Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting productionEaster Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting production
Estonia’s Easter Monday time loop: Discussing an additional day off

Every year, Estonia reliably asks itself the question whether or not Easter Monday should be made a public holiday. Opinions differ. While one side emphasizes the importance of family time, the other thinks an additional day off would threaten economic growth.

Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).
Samost: Kaia Iva’s charisma could help IRL out of long-term low

In Sunday’s “Samost ja Rumm” radio debate show, editor-in-chief of ERR’s online news, Anvar Samost, and journalist and former politician Hannes Rumm discussed the potential and actual candidates for the chairmanship of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL). At the time of the broadcast, Helir-Valdor Seeder had not yet made his intention to run public.