Paavo Järvi given Gramophone's “Artist of the Year” award ({{commentsTotal}})

Paavo Järvi Source: Photo: Scanpix/Postimees

Conductor Paavo Järvi was presented with “Artist of the Year” award at Gramophone Awards in London on Thursday.

The award has been presented since 1977 by UK-based Gramophone classical music magazine, established in 1923.

“One of the most sought-after conductors of today, and one of the most recorded, Paavo Järvi continues the family tradition. An interpreter of imagination who brings something fresh to everything he tackles, he is a musician well worth listening to,” James Jolly, the magazine's Editor-in-Chief said at the ceremony.

Receiving the award in London, Järvi expressed his gratitude. “When I am in the recording studio all thought is of the “here” and “now” – the music and the musicians. It's easy to forget that the audience is as important a part of the whole experience because they will be the ones who decide whether your recording should stand the test of time – or not! So from now on I shall go into the studio reminding myself of the music, the musicians and audiences around the world who voted for me to receive this award. It's a humbling thought to be chosen as Gramophone’s Artist of the Year and I am hugely proud to be standing here today to receive it.”

Järvi is currently the Music Director of the Orchestre de Paris, Artistic Director of the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen and the incoming Chief Conductor of the NHK Symphony Orchestra in Japan.

He is also Artistic Director of the Pärnu Festival and Järvi Academy which takes place each July in the resort town Pärnu.

The Gramophone Awards was launched in 1977 and has become one of the most significant honors bestowed on recordings in the classical record industry, often viewed as equivalent to or surpassing the American Grammy award and widely regarded as the most influential classical music awards in the world.

Paavo Järvi is the seventh conductor to be awarded “Artist of the Year”, succeeding Pierre Boulez, Riccardo Chailly, Antonio Pappano, Marin Alsop, Michael Tilson Thomas and Gustavo Dudamel.
Just last week, Järvi was also awarded with the Sibelius Medal in Paris by the Finnish Ambassador to France.

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.