No politicians in new Port of Tallinn supervisory board ({{commentsTotal}})


Economy Minister Kristen Michal has named a new supervisory board for the corruption-hit Port of Tallinn, with all politicians removed.

Half of the new-look board has been nominated by Sven Sester, the finance minister.

The new supervisory board is: lawyer Aare Tark, auditor Urmas Kaarlep, businessmen Mart Luik and Üllar Jaaksoo, Economy Ministry Secretary General Merike Saks and Finance Ministry Deputy Secretary General (for public governance policy) Agris Peedu.

The previous board was chaired by Reform Party MP Remo Holsmer and included Kalev Lillo (also Reform Party), Randel Länts (SDE) and Jaanus Tamkivi (Reform Party).

The first task will be to find a new management board, as both members of the two-man board were arrested at the end of August, being accused of taking, giving and aiding bribery.

Sester said the new board will have to look through all unusual contracts and calculate how much financial damage the company took from corrupt deals, adding that the supervisory board should also look into how those damages can be reclaimed.

The company has a temporary two-man management board in place until a new CEO and board member can be found.

The company launched a competition to find a new CEO a few days ago. The company is also seeking a head for its domestic ferry service operation, which will begin in a year, and which it will take over from a private company, Väinemere Liinid.

Editor: J.M. Laats

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Independence Day: Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: