Finland, Greece, Turkey join NATO cyber defense center in Tallinn ({{commentsTotal}})


Finland, Greece and Turkey finalised their accession process to the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defense Center of Excellence (CCD COE) today. The Hellenic Republic and the Republic of Turkey joined as sponsoring nations and the Republic of Finland as a contributing participant.

“The fact that the membership of the center is expanding, shows the growing importance of cyber defense. Cyber has evolved into a domain of warfare next to land, sea, air and space. It has changed our lives and will change warfare,” said Sven Sakkov, director of the think tank and training facility. The NATO cyber defense center helps nations prepare for this future, Sakkov explained.

“Cyber poses a new global challenge that no nation can face alone. It is touching to see our flag fly side by side with so many others,” said General Arto Räty, Permanent Secretary of the Finnish Ministry of Defense. Finland contributes to the center because networking and cooperation are the only way to assure effective cyber defense, Räty added.

Flag ceremony at the NATO CCDCOE (Photo: Juss Saska/Estonian Defense Forces).

Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic Constantine Catsambis also said that cyber security has become a critical element of Greece's defense planning.

“Cyber space connects people, offers opportunities for our economies and it transforms our societies in an irreversible way. Yet, it has also made our societies extremely vulnerable against risks and threats,” added Hayriye Kumaşcıoğlu, Ambassador of the Republic of Turkey. By joining the NATO cyber defense center, Turkey contributes to a more secure cyberspace, Kumaşcıoğlu said.

The Tallinn-based NATO Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence is a NATO-accredited knowledge hub, think-tank and training facility. The international military organisation focuses on interdisciplinary applied research and development, as well as consultations, trainings and exercises in the field of cyber security. The center’s mission is to enhance capability, cooperation and information-sharing between NATO, allies and partners in cyber defence.

Membership of the center is open to all allied nations. The Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Greece, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the USA have signed on as sponsoring nations. Austria and Finland have joined the center as contributing participants. The center is funded and staffed jointly by these nations.

Editor: M. Oll

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: