Eiki Nestor reelected President of the Riigikogu ({{commentsTotal}})

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor.
President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor. Source: (Postimees/Scanpix)

Eiki Nestor (SDE) was reelected President of the Riigikogu on Thursday. Helir-Valdor Seeder (IRL) was elected first deputy, Jüri Ratas (Center) second deputy.

Nestor won the election with 53 votes. MP Krista Aru of the Free Party was a candidate as well and got 38 votes. 95 votes were cast, four of which were invalid.

Nestor thanked the members of the Riigikogu for their support.

Born in 1953, Eiki Nestor graduated from Tallinn Polytechnic Institute (today’s Tallinn University of Technology) in 1976. He is a mechanical engineer.

Nestor was first elected to the Riigikogu in 1992 and has been an MP since. He joined the Social Democratic Party in 1993 and was minister without portfolio in Andres Tarand’s cabinet from 1994 to 1995, where he was responsible for regional affairs.

From 1996 to 1999 Nestor was also a member of the Tallinn City Council. From 1999 to 2002, he was Minister of Social Affairs in Mart Laar’s cabinet.

Eiki Nestor was elected President of the Riigikogu in 2014 and has since been reelected twice.

Editor: Editor: Dario Cavegn