Three parishes and town in Valga County to merge ({{commentsTotal}})

Representatives of four local government councils in Southern Estonia’s Valga County are set to sign a merger agreement on Tuesday.

Councilmen from the parishes of Helme, Hummuli and Põdrala and the town of Tõrva will be signing the merger agreement as well as deciding on the name of the newly formed parish on Tuesday night, spokespeople for the Tõrva Town Council said.

These are the first local governments of Valga County to have held a public vote in the course of the merger process as well as have a merger agreement ready for signing.

Referendums seeking residents' opinions on the proposed merger and the potential name of the new administrative unit took place from June 9-11. While voter turnout was modest, voters predominantly supported the merger.

The merger will result in the creation of a new 600 square kilometer (230 square mile) parish with a population of approximately 6,500. Its administrative center will be the town of Tõrva.

Editor: Editor: Aili Sarapik

Source: BNS

Kallas, Kasemets, Maasikas: EU is strong, no upside to losing the euro

Speaking on Vikerraadio's "Reporteritund" ahead of the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, Siim Kallas, Keit Kasemets and Matti Maasikas agreed that despite its prblems, the EU remained strong as a union.

Opinion digest: How can Estonia shed its reputation as a frontline state?

In a recent opinion piece in Postimees, Propastop, a blog maintained by Estonian Defence Forces volunteers, listed suggestions on how Estonia could shed its international reputation as a frontline state.