Tallinn opposition seeks 4 of 10 electoral college seats ({{commentsTotal}})

The Riigikogu failed to elect Estonia's new president within three balloting rounds, which means that the vote will go to the electoral college, which is scheduled to convene on Sept. 24. Source: (Siim Lõvi/ERR)

The opposition parties on Tallinn City Council are seeking at least four of the city's ten available seats in the electoral college set to elect Estonia's next president later this month.

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor has summoned the electoral college to convene on Sept. 24 after the Riigikogu failed to elect the country's new president in three balloting rounds, which means that local government councils will now have to select their representatives to the electoral body.

Most local governments in Estonia have one or two votes in the electoral college. Tallinn, its capital, has ten votes, while Tartu, its second biggest city, has four.

"Simple arithmetic shows that, in case all council members shw up and take part in the vote, the Center Party should get six, the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) two and the Social Democratic Party (SDE) and Reform Party one elector each, but no cooperation talks have been held so far," said Anto Liivat, chairman of the ity council's SDE group.

The electoral college summoned for this year's elections consists of all 101 members of the Riigikogu plus 234 representatives of the country's local government councils.

As of Saturday morning, the National Electoral Committee had already been given the names of 18 local government representatives chosen as electors: Tanel Mõistus (the town of Keila, Harju County); Mihkel Rebane (Kiili Municipality, Harju County); Eda Arusoo (Vasalemma Municipality, Harju County); Jüri Päll (Alajõe Municipality, Ida-Viru County); Raivo Raja (Paide Municipality; Järva County); Vladimir Belovas (Noarootsi Municipality, Lääne County); Maido Nõlvak (Sõmeru Municipality, Lääne-Viru County); Arno Kakk (Kanepi Municipality, Põlva County); Sulev Viiron (Kaiu Municipality, Rapla County); Ain Täpsi (Rapla Municipality, Rapla County); Jüri Allik (town of Elva; Tartu County); Radz Sauk (Luunja Municipality, Tartu County); Viktor Filippov (Peipsiääre Municipality, Tartu County); Sulev Kuus (Rõngu Municipality, Tartu County); Ave Visor (Helme Municipality, Valga County); Vambola Sipelgas (Palupera Municipality, Valga County); Elina Järv (Rõuge Municipality, Võru County); Margus Klaar (Urvaste Municipality, Võru County).

Local government councils will have until Sept. 17 to select their representatives to the electoral college, which is slated to convene at Estonia Concert Hall in Tallinn for the presidential elections one week later, on Sept. 24, at noon.

Editor: Editor: Aili Sarapik

Source: BNS/ERR

Opinion digest: Our plans do not have to bend to distorted Russophobia

In a recent opinion piece in Postimees, small business-owner and Reform Party member Vootele Päi responded to criticism sparked by Prime Minister Jüri Ratas' plans to attend a commemorative concert-service at the Estonian church in Saint Petersburg next month.

Kallas, Kasemets, Maasikas: EU is strong, no upside to losing the euro

Speaking on Vikerraadio's "Reporteritund" ahead of the 60th anniversary of the Treaty of Rome, Siim Kallas, Keit Kasemets and Matti Maasikas agreed that despite its prblems, the EU remained strong as a union.