Kaljurand nominated for president with 26 signatures ({{commentsTotal}})

Marina Kaljurand's nomination was officially submitted to the National Electoral Committee on Tuesday afternoon. Sept. 20, 2016.
Marina Kaljurand's nomination was officially submitted to the National Electoral Committee on Tuesday afternoon. Sept. 20, 2016. Source: (Siim Lõvi/ERR)

On Tuesday afternoon, Marina Kaljurand was nominated for president in the electoral college round of elections with a total of 26 signatures of support.

A total of 26 signatures were submitted in support of Kaljurand's presidential candidacy:

Jüri Allik (town of Elva); Eda Arusoo (Vasalemma Municipality); Raimond Danilov (Martna Municipality); Veiko Erm (Sonda Municipality); Toomas Jürgenstein (MP); Andres Kampmann (Lääne-Nigula Municipality); Kaido Katalsepp (Nissi Municipality); Urmas Kristal (Märjamaa Municipality); Maido Nõlvak (Sõmeru Municipality); Toomas Nõmmiste (Kohtla Municipality); Valdo Palu (Kihnu Municipality); Heljo Pikhof (MP); Ene Preem (Väike-Maarja Municipality); Raivo Raja (Paide Municipality); Mihkel Rebane (Kiili Municipality); Jaanus Saat (town of Paldiski); Uno Silberg (Kose Municipality); Sirje Simmo (Tabivere Municipality); Mark Soosaar (MP); Aavo Sõrmus (Saue Municipality); Külli Tammur (Padise Municipality); Rainer Vakra (MP); Ave Visor (Helme Municipality); Liivi Vähesoo (Vända Municipality); and Kandela Õun (Sauga Municipality).

According to the Central Commercial Register, six of the above signatoories (Simmo, Nõmmiste, Jürgenstein, Sosaar, Vakra, Pikhof) belong to the Social Democratic Party (SDE), two (Raja, Katalsepp) to the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL), and one (Erm) to the Reform Party. Saat is a former member of the Reform Party while Silberg and Danilov are former members of the Conservative People's Party of Estonia (EKRE).

According to the National Electoral Committee, candidates can be nominated for the electoral college's presidential elections anytime between 9 a.m. Tuesday and 6 p.m. Thursday. A candidate needs 21 electors' votes for the nomination. Each member of the electoral bdy can nominate only one candidate.

The first ballot round in the electoral college is scheduled to begin at noon on Saturday, Sept. 24. If needed, a second ballot round will be held at 4 p.m. A candidate will need 50 percent of the votes plus one in order to be elected.

If the first round doesn't produce a winner, the second round to follow will be between the two candidates to receive the most votes in the first round. If a second round likewise proves unable to elect anyone, the vote will move back to the Riigikogu, in which extraordinary elections will be held within 14 days.

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla

Easter Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting productionEaster Monday a public holiday? But you're forgetting production
Estonia’s Easter Monday time loop: Discussing an additional day off

Every year, Estonia reliably asks itself the question whether or not Easter Monday should be made a public holiday. Opinions differ. While one side emphasizes the importance of family time, the other thinks an additional day off would threaten economic growth.

Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).Minister of Social Protection Kaia Iva (IRL).
Samost: Kaia Iva’s charisma could help IRL out of long-term low

In Sunday’s “Samost ja Rumm” radio debate show, editor-in-chief of ERR’s online news, Anvar Samost, and journalist and former politician Hannes Rumm discussed the potential and actual candidates for the chairmanship of the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL). At the time of the broadcast, Helir-Valdor Seeder had not yet made his intention to run public.