TTÜ rector: Restructuring shouldn't cause wave of layoffs ({{commentsTotal}})

Tallinn University of Technology (TTÜ) has concluded a structural reform which will replace the university's current eight faculties and a dozen research institutes with just four bigger faculties beginning in January: Information Technology, Engineering, Natural Sciences and Economics and Business Administration.

The only separate entity to remain will be the Estonian Maritime Academy. 20 institutes will remain, which is three times fewer than before, reported ETV's news broadcast "Aktuaalne kaamera.

According to Rector Jaak Aaviksoo, the organization of work will at the university will be changing for staff and students alike, but nobody will have to be laid off as a result of the restructuring.

"I don't believe that anyone will end up jobless, but I suppose the [number of] superior positions will be reduced," said Aaviksoo. "I think that good scientists will also be happy when they won't have to deal with so much bureaucracy and will have more time for PhD students, researchers and university students."

TTÜ's eight current faculties include Chemicals and Materials Technology, Civil Engineering, Economics and Business Administration, Social Sciences, Mechanical Engineering, Information Technology, Power Engineering and Science.

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla

ERR kasutab oma veebilehtedel http küpsiseid. Kasutame küpsiseid, et meelde jätta kasutajate eelistused meie sisu lehitsemisel ning kohandada ERRi veebilehti kasutaja huvidele vastavaks. Kolmandad osapooled, nagu sotsiaalmeedia veebilehed, võivad samuti lisada küpsiseid kasutaja brauserisse, kui meie lehtedele on manustatud sisu otse sotsiaalmeediast. Kui jätkate ilma oma lehitsemise seadeid muutmata, tähendab see, et nõustute kõikide ERRi internetilehekülgede küpsiste seadetega.