Riigikogu to debate granting of powers to Ratas on Monday ({{commentsTotal}})


The Riigikogu will begin to debate the granting of powers to Jüri Ratas for the formation of Estonia’s new government at its 3 p.m. plenary session on Monday.

This change to Monday’s agenda was made following President Kersti Kaljulaid’s tasking Ratas with forming a new government on Sunday.

Center Party chairman Jüri Ratas will begin by giving a 20-minute presentation on the formation of the government, which will be followed by a question-and-answer session. Every MP will have the opportunity to ask the candidate for prime minister up to two questions.

Negotiations will not be held; a simple majority is needed for Ratas to gain the approval of the Riigikogu.

Once he has been granted the necessary powers by the Riigikogu, Ratas will submit his composition of the government to the president, who will in turn appoint the new government.

The chairmen of the Center Party, the Social Democratic Party (SDE) and the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) agreed on the conditions of the new coalition as well as the distribution of the ministries, granting five ministerial positions to each of the three coalition partners, on Saturday.

The Center Party council confirmed its five ministerial candidates on Saturday: Jüri Ratas for Prime Minister, Kadri Simson for Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications, Mailis Reps for Minister of Education and Research, Martin Repinski for Minister of Rural Affairs and Mihhail Korb for Minister of Public Administration.

The SDE’s council likewise confirmed the following candidates: Jevgeni Ossinovski for Minister of Health and Labour, Indrek Saar for Minister of Culture, Sven Mikser for Minister of Foreign Affairs, Andres Anvelt for Minister of the Interior and Urve Palo for Minister of Entrepreneurship and Economic Development. Eiki Nestor will continue serving as President of the Riigikogu.

IRL has been tasked with nominating candidates for the Ministers of Defence, Finance, Social Affairs and the Environment. According to information available to ERR, the party's governing body will convene to choose its ministerial candidates at 9 a.m. on Monday; the coalition agreement is expected to be signed at 1 p.m. as well.

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long


Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: news@err.ee