Kalvi Kõva to lead SDE parliamentary group ({{commentsTotal}})


The Social Democratic Party (SDE) Parliamentary Group elected Kalvi Kõva as its new chairman and Heljo Pikhof and Liisa Oviir as its deputy chairmen on Wednesday.

"The responsibility of making sure the coalition works in the Riigikogu rests on the shoulders of the parliamentary group chairmen," said Kõva, who recognized that his was a position of great responsibility. "I will stand to make sure that the newly formed coalition's ideas become reality."

Pikhof has led the Legal Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu and is chairman of the party's Tartu Division, while Oviir previously served as Minister of Entrepreneurship and is chairman of the party's Harju Division.

As a new government is installed under the leadership of Center Party chairman Jüri Ratas, Social Democrats Hardi Volmer, Barbi-Jenny Pilvre-Storgård and Liisa Oviir will become new members of the SDE's parliamentary group.

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long


Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: news@err.ee