49th cabinet of Estonia sworn in under Prime Minister Jüri Ratas ({{commentsTotal}})


The beginning of Wednesday's session of the Riigikogu was dedicated in large part to the changing out of the Government of Estonia as Prime Minister Jüri Ratas gave his oath of office and announced the 14 remaining newly appointed ministers before Taavi Rõivas' second cabinet was released from office by order of President of the Republic Kersti Kaljulaid.

Helmut Hallemaa (Center), Eevi Paasmäe (Center), Barbi Pilvre (SDE), Tiit Terik (Center) and Toomas Väinaste (Center) were sworn in as new MPs, filling a number of seats in the 49th cabinet of Estonia.

Jüri Ratas (Center) then gave his oath of office, stating that he was aware that he was accountable as prime minister to the Republic of Estonia and his own conscience, before announcing the following 14 newly appointed ministers in turn:

Minister of Entrepreneurship and Information Technology Urve Palo (SDE)

Minister of Education and Research Mailis Reps (Center)

Minister of Justice Urmas Reinsalu (IRL)

Minister of Defence Margus Tsahkna (IRL)

Minister of the Environment Marko Pomerants (IRL)

Minister of Culture Indrek Saar (SDE)

Minsiter of Rural Affairs Martin Repinski (Center)

Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure Kadri Simson (Center)

Minister of Finance Sven Sester (IRL)

Minister of Public Administration Mihhail Korb (Center)

Minister of the Interior Andres Anvelt (SDE)

Minister of Social Affairs Kaia Iva (IRL)

Minister of Health and Labour Jevgeni Ossinovski (SDE)

Minister of Foreign Affairs Sven Mikser (SDE)

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor thereafter read President Kersti Kaljulaid's official order releasing Taavi Rõivas' second cabinet from office before calling a twenty-minute recess to allow President Kaljulaid and the remainder of the Riigikogu to personally congratulate the new cabinet.

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long


Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: news@err.ee