Administrative reform: Lääne County to lose territory to Pärnu County in 2017 ({{commentsTotal}})

Hanila will become part of the new municipality of Lääneranna, which will be part of Pärnu County. Source: (ERR)

Two municipalities in Lääne County, Lihula and Hanila, will become part of Pärnu County in 2017. Votes held in Lihula, Hanila, Koonga, and Varbla confirmed the merger into the new municipality of Lääneranna as part of Pärnu County.

Interest in the vote was extremely low, at a turnout of 8.6% in Lihula, and 9.2% in Hanila. In both municipalities, the upcoming merger was supported by some two-thirds of the voters.

The local councils will confirm the merger agreement in December.

Lihula and Hanila had been thinking about joining with its neighbors in Pärnu County as early as 2014, ETV’s “Aktuaalne Kaamera” reported on Tuesday. “For this area we’ve found the best solution, because the four municipalities that are merging into Lääneranna are similar, the settlements are dispersed, we have similar problems to solve, we have a lot in common,” Varje Ojala-Toos, municipality mayor of Lihula, said.

Editor: Editor: Dario Cavegn

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

Ermamaa: The fine art of passing the buck

Admit nothing, blame everyone: those most closely involved in the Ermamaa case don’t need arguments, writes ERR News editor Dario Cavegn.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: