Three Riigikogu committees elect new chairmen ({{commentsTotal}})

Elections for the chairmen and vice-chairmen of the Economic Affairs Committee, the Social Affairs Committee and the Legal Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu were held on Monday.

Aivar Kokk (IRL) and Toomas Kivimägi (Reform) were elected chairman and vice-chairman, respectively, of the Economic Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu, while Helmen Kütt (SDE) and Monika Haukanõmm (Free) were elected chairman and vice-chairman of the Social Affairs Committee and Jaanus Karilaid (Center) and Uno Kaskpeit (EKRE) chairman and vice chairman of the Legal Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu.

Following the changing out of the government's ruling coalition this fall, Mihhail Stalnuhhin (Center) had already been elected chairman of the Finance Committee, Hannes Hanso (SDE) the chairman of the National Defence Committee and Marko Mihkelson (IRL) chairman of the Foreign Affarirs committee.

The Cultural Affairs committee is likely to elect their new chairman on Tuesday. On Monday, Aadu Must (Center), who is likely to replace current Laine Randjärv (Reform) as the committee chairman, resigned from his position as vice-chairman thereof.

The EU Affairs Committee of the Riigikogu also has yet to vote on a new chairman to replace Kalle Palling (Reform).

Editor: Editor: Aili Vahtla