Vitsut made EU Affairs Committee chairman ({{commentsTotal}})

Jaak Madison congratulates Toomas Vitsut, Dec. 9, 2016. Source: (Riigikogu)

Center Party MP Toomas Vitsut was elected chairman of the Riigikogu’s European Union Affairs Committee on Friday. Jaak Madison of the Estonian Conservative People’s Party was confirmed deputy chairman.

Eight members of the committee voted for Vitsut, four voted for Madison. Madison’s candidacy had been suggested by former prime minister, Taavi Rõivas. The chairmanship of the EU Affairs Committee is one of the more prestigious positions in the legislative.

The committe has 15 members. Next to Vitsut and Madison, MPs Oudekki Loone, Andrei Novikov, Tiit Terik, Marianne Mikko, Liisa Oviir, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Kalle Palling, Taavi Rõivas, Aivar Sõerd, Johannes Kert, Juhan Parts, Marko Mihkelson, and Monika Haukanõmm are members.

Editor: Editor: Dario Cavegn

+{{cc.replyToName}} {{cc.body}}
No comments yet.
Logged in as {{user.alias}}. Log out
Login failed

Register user/reset password

Name needs to be fewer than 32 characters long
Comment needs to be fewer than 600 characters long

Independence Day: Estonia’s way into the future isn’t a race

There is a lack of connection between the Estonian state, and the people who live here. While it expects a lot of the state, Estonian society doesn’t seem ready to contribute, writes Viktor Trasberg.

Lotman: Security academy would be crucial Estonian identity point in Narva

In an opinion piece published by Eesti Päevaleht, Tallinn University professor Mihhail Lotman found it important to overcome the mental barrier separating Ida-Viru County from the rest of Estonia.

About us

Staff & contacts | Comments rules

Would you like to contribute an article, a feature, or an opinion piece?

Let us know: