Nestor to meet with Georgian leaders, visit South Ossetia boundary line ({{commentsTotal}})

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor (SDE). Source: (Riigikogu kantselei)

President of the Riigikogu Eiki Nestor (SDE) is on a visit to Georgia, where he will meet with President Giorgi Margvelashvili, Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili, and speaker of the Georgian parliament Irakli Kobakhidze on Monday. He will also visit the South Ossetia boundary line.

Nestor is travelling with fellow speakers of the Nordic and Baltic parliaments. They are scheduled to travel to the South Ossetia administrative boundary line on Monday.

“These are important meetings, where eight speakers can encourage the leaders of Georgia together to develop and reform their state in order to better integrate with Europe,” Nestor said, adding that he congratulated the country on its visa freedom with the European Union, which will enter into force soon.

“The government of Georgia did a lot of homework in the name of that, and visa freedom is a significant achievement in the integration with the European Union,” Nestor said.

On Monday the Nordic and Baltic (NB8) speakers of parliament will visit the village of Khurvaleti near the administrative boundary line with South Ossetia. “Estonia supports the territorial integrity of Georgia, and is interested in a peaceful solution of the conflicts there,” Nestor said. “I acknowledge the leaders of Georgia for communicating with South Ossetia, Abkhazia, and Russia, but the international community must not leave Georgia’s concerns unnoticed.”

On Tuesday the NB8 speakers will meet with President Giorgi Margvelashvili, speaker of the Georgian parliament, Irakli Kobakhidze, and Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili. On Wednesday meetings with several citizens’ associations are on their schedule.

The cooperation of the Nordic Countries and the Baltic States, or NB8, is a regional format bringing together Finland, Sweden, Norway, Iceland, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania.

One of its priorities is the Eastern Partnership, or promoting the cooperation and integration of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, and Belarus with the European Union.

Editor: Dario Cavegn

Sociologists issue joint statement prompted by social research nonprofit

Sociologists at Estonian universities have recently drawn attention to the fact that organizations exist which are presenting the results of what appear to be sociological research, however these organizations' objectives and competence should be examined critically.

Opinion digest: Our plans do not have to bend to distorted Russophobia

In a recent opinion piece in Postimees, small business-owner and Reform Party member Vootele Päi responded to criticism sparked by Prime Minister Jüri Ratas' plans to attend a commemorative concert-service at the Estonian church in Saint Petersburg next month.