Netherlands Becomes 11th Member of CCDCOE

CCDCOE headquarters in Tallinn Photo: Postimees/Scanpix
4/5/2012 2:06 PM
Category: Politics

Representatives of the 10 Sponsoring States of the NATO Cooperative Cyber Defense Center of Excellence signed the protocol of Netherlands' joining today at Supreme Allied Command Transformation, Norfolk.

Netherlands is the third country to have joined the Cyber Defense Center in past six months, following Poland and the US.

Other Sponsoring Nations include Spain, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Slovakia, Germany, Hungary and Estonia. Each Sponsoring Nation sends their experts to work in the center and also contributes to the shared budget.

The Tallinn-based CCDCOE, founded in 2008 in the wake of the massive cyber attacks against Estonia's government and public infrastructure, is one of NATO's 15 accredited Centers of Excellence, focusing on improving the allied powers' cyber defense capacity, providing technical support for experimentation and developing the relevant doctrine and concepts.

Erkki Sivonen

See also