Reform, Center and SDE nominate their Bank of Estonia board members ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

Bank of Estonia coat of arms.
Bank of Estonia coat of arms. Source: Siim Lõvi /ERR

Three parties, Reform, the Social Democratic Party (SDE) and Center have elected representatives the Bank of Estonia supervisory board, with the Conservative People's Party of Estonia (EKRE) and Isamaa yet to do so.

Reform Party chair Kaja Kallas told ERR Monday that her party will nominate Andres Sutt, a candidate they had already favored for the post.

Kai Kalamees, SDE's media adviser, said that their candidate is former MEP Ivari Padar, whose name had also been announced earlier.

Andres Kalvik, press adviser of the Center Party, confirmed that their candidate is MP Jaanus Karilaid.

EKRE and Isamaa have not yet selected their candidates. The deadline for nominations is June 2.

Due to the amendment to the Bank of Estonia Act, the new supervisory board will consist of a representative from each of the five parties represented the Riigikogu, four experts from the field plus the chair.

The current Supervisory Board of Eesti Pank consists of former prime minister Mart Laar, Urmas Varblane, Rein Minka, Kaie Kerem, Liina Tõnisson, Kalev Kallo, Jaanus Tamkivi and Enn Listra.

Mart Laar nominated Kerem, Listra, Minka and Varblas as the expert component for the new supervisory board.

Last year, each member of the supervisory board received remuneration of €18,026.96, with Mart Laar was paid €25,237.72 for the same period.

Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: