New members of Press Council are Ragne Kõuts-Klemm and Maarja Pild ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

Ragne Kõuts-Klemm
Ragne Kõuts-Klemm Source: Diana Unt

The Supervisory Board of the Estonian Association of Media Companies elected lawyer Maarja Pild and lecturer in Journalism Ragne Kõuts-Klemm as new members of the Press Council.

The members of the Press Council are Gunnar Siiner, publisher and editor-in-chief of Saarte Hääl (Chairman of the Press Council), Toomas Mattson (Vice-Chairman), law attorney in Cobalt Kadri Michelsmann, Martin Šmutov, Editor-in-Chief of Õhtuleht, Urmet Kook, Head of Web News and Portals at Estonian Public Broadcasting, Maarja Pild, Lawyer at the Law Firm Trinit, and Ragne Kõuts-Klemm, Associate Professor of Sociology of Journalism at the University of Tartu. 

The Association of Estonian Media Companies  (Eesti Meediaettevõtete Liit) appoints the members of the Press Council for two years. According to the statute, membership can be extended by one cycle, i.e. for two years.  

The Press Council is a self-regulatory body of the press that offers a person or institution that has come into conflict with the press the opportunity to find an out-of-court solution. 

The Council discusses complaints about the material in the press. If a member of the Press Council is involved in a complaint under discussion or if a member has a conflict of interest, the member shall not participate in the discussion of the complaint. 


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Katriin Eikin Sein

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: