Parliament merry-go-round begins as a number of fresh MPs pass up their seats ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

The new-look Parliament includes a number of European Parliament members and local mayors, who have no plans to quit their current posts and move to Tallinn.

Tallinn Mayor Edgar Savisaar, who broke his own personal best vote haul with over 25,000, is unlikely to enter Parliament, although he has yet to make the decision. Deputy Mayor Mihhail Kõlvart said he will only take up his elected seat if the Center Party is in government, which currently looks unlikely.

Yana Toom, a Center Party MEP, also said her participation will depend on whether the party is part of the government.

Reform Party MEP Urmas Paet said he will not return to become an MP, but could take a ministerial post, if offered one. If he leaves the European Parliament then Igor Gräzin, elected to Parliament on Sunday, will head to Brussels, opening up a MP spot.

Tartu Mayor Urmas Klaas said he will remain in charge of Tartu and will not take his MP seat, but Pärnu Mayor Toomas Kivimägi said he now plans to move to Tallinn as he won an unexpectedly high number of votes (7,603, the highest in the Pärnu County district).

Saue and Kuressaare mayors Henn Põlluaas (EKRE) and Hannes Hanso (Social Democrats) respectively, both said they will enter Parliament.

The biggest Parliament shuffle will take place when any new government is sworn in, opening up to 14 MP seats.

Editor: J.M. Laats

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: