Article is more than five years old and has been archived and cannot be amended.

Social Democrats, IRL approve coalition agreement

On Tuesday, the respective councils of the Social Democrats and IRL voted to approve the coalition agreement, with the ruling Reform Party having already authorized the deal.
The heads of all three parties are expected to sign the Coalition Treaty on Wednesday afternoon.

Parliament will then vote on whether to give Reform Party Chairman Taavi Rõivas the mandate to form the next government.

The Social Democrats will receive four ministries: Defense, led by Sven Mikser, Foreign trade and Entrepreneurship, led by Urve Palo, Health and Labor, led by Rannar Vassiljev and Culture, headed by Indrek Saar.

IRL's head Urmas Reinsalu will become Justice Minister, Sven Sester will take the helm at the Finance ministry, Marko Pomerants at the Environment ministry and Margus Tsahkna at the Social Protection ministry.

The Reform Party is yet to name its candidates for the seven ministries it will receive, but the media has speculated that Taavi Rõivas will continue as PM, with Keit Pentus-Rosimannus (Foreign ministry) and Hanno Pevkur (Interior ministry) also set to continue.

Arto Aas will take the helm at the newly created Ministry for Public Administration, Kristen Michal will lead the Economic Affairs and Infrastructure ministry, with Rural Affairs going to Urmas Kruuse and the Education ministry going to Jüri Ligi.

Editor: J.M. Laats

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: