Visitors from four EU countries must quarantine when entering Estonia

Passenger jet over Tallinn Airport.
Passenger jet over Tallinn Airport. Source: Priit Mürk/ERR

From Monday only people arriving to Estonia from Sweden, Portugal, the United Kingdom and Belgium need to undergo a 14-day period of quarantine. From next week the requirement no longer applies to travelers from Ireland.

From Monday, self-isolation is no longer compulsory for passengers arriving from any of the countries listed below if they have spent at least 14 days in these countries shortly before coming to Estonia.

  • Austria
  • Bulgaria
  • Spain
  • the Netherlands
  • Croatia
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Cyprus
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Latvia
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Germany
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Finland
  • Switzerland
  • Denmark
  • Czech Republic
  • Hungary 

On May 28, the government approved the reopening of Estonia's borders from June 1 to passengers from Europe. They closed to stop the spread of coronavirus.  

Information about countries and requirements is available on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The list is updated every Friday and updates will take force the following Monday.

The self-isolation requirements for passengers arriving in Estonia depend on whether the coronavirus infection rate in their country of departure is above 15

. This means that 15 or fewer people per 100 000 inhabitants should have contracted the virus in their country of departure in the past 14 days.

Anyone arriving in Estonia from a country with a higher infection rate must self-isolate for two weeks on arrival. 


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: