Passengers from 11 European countries must isolate on arrival from Monday ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

{{1595600460000 | amCalendar}}
Tallinn Airport (Picture is illustrative)
Tallinn Airport (Picture is illustrative) Source: Priit Mürk/ERR

Passengers entering Estonia from 11 European countries must quarantine on arrival from Monday, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said on Friday.

Anyone arriving from, or passing through, a country with a coronavirus (COVID-19) infection rate above 16 per 100,000 people must self-isolate for 14 days after arriving in Estonia. 

The full, updated list with reported COVID-19 rates per 100,000 inhabitants is below, and takes effect from Monday, July 27 (arrivals from countries in bold must undergo 14 days' quarantine upon arrival in Estonia).

  • Andorra 44,6
  • Austria 17,3*
  • Belgium 19,4
  • Bulgaria 45,4
  • Croatia 29,9
  • Czech Republic 17,7
  • Cyprus 4,0
  • Denmark 8,2
  • Finland 1,5
  • France 13,9
  • Germany 7,2
  • Greece 4,1
  • Hungary 1,8
  • Iceland 2,2
  • Ireland 5,3
  • Italy 4,9
  • Latvia 2,6
  • Liechtenstein 5,2
  • Lithuania 3,7
  • Luxembourg 200,8
  • Malta 1,2
  • Monaco 18,1
  • Netherlands 9,3
  • Norway 2,0
  • Poland 12,2
  • Portugal  39,9
  • Romania 54,0
  • San Marino 5,8
  • Slovakia 4,4
  • Slovenia 12,4
  • Spain 34,6
  • Sweden 43,3
  • Switzerland 16,5*
  • United Kingdom 14,3
  • Vatican 0,0

*ERR News checked with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Friday evening, who confirmed that Austria and Switzerland were not on the list of countries whose arrivals must self-quarantine for 14 days on arrival in Estonia, despite both having reported COVID-19 rates over the 16 per 100,000 inhabitants at the time of writing.

"The information in today's press release is correct and we can confirm that the restriction on freedom of movement will not apply to people travelling to Estonia from Austria and Switzerland next week (July 27-August 2)," the ministry told ERR News.

The ministry later pointed to p13 of Government of the Republic Order No. 172, which says the "restriction on the freedom of movement is not applied in case a country's number of positive tests per 100,000 inhabitants remains between 16 to 17.6 during a period of two weeks."

You can view more information on the Ministry of Foreign Affair's website. The list is updated every Friday. 

What does quarantine really mean?

The Police and Border Guard Board's (PPA) definition of what a 14-day quarantine period is and what the rules are, is published below:

"It means that a person may not leave his or her place of residence within 14 days, except on the instructions of a healthcare professional or a police officer, or for unavoidable reasons.

"For instance, you may leave home if your life is in danger or you need medical attention, to renew your food supplies, purchase essentials or medicines. In all these cases, you must avoid contact with other people.

"Therefore, you must not go to work or too crowded hiking trails. However, you can, for instance, go running or cycling if you do so without coming into contact with others." 


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: