Iceland, France, Netherlands, San Marino added to ministry quarantine list

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Tallinn.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Tallinn. Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Travelers from Iceland, the Netherlands, France, San Marino, Iceland and Poland must spend 14-days in quarantine after arriving in Estonia from Monday (August 10), the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said on Friday. The total number of countries on the list is now 19.

No countries have been removed from last week's list. Travelers arriving from Canada do not have to self-quarantine for 14 days, having been removed from a recently updated EU list.

A country is added to the quarantine list if the reported rate of coronavirus is more than 16 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants over the preceding 14 days.

The full, updated list with reported COVID-19 rates per 100,000 inhabitants is below and takes effect from Monday, August 10. It can also be viewed on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

Arrivals from countries in bold must undergo 14 days' quarantine upon arrival in Estonia.

  • Andorra (72.2 coronavirus cases reported per 100,000 inhabitants over past 14 days).
  • Austria (17.7 cases)
  • Belgium (52.9)
  • Bulgaria (40.9)
  • Croatia (18.9)
  • Czech Republic (27.6)
  • Cyprus (17.1)*
  • Denmark (15.8)
  • Finland (2.9)
  • France (24.2)
  • Germany (12.1)
  • Greece (9.4)
  • Hungary (2.0)
  • Iceland (25.5)
  • Ireland (11.1)
  • Italy (6.4)
  • Latvia (3.8)
  • Liechtenstein (5.2)
  • Lithuania (7.6)
  • Luxembourg (182.6)
  • Malta (33.6)
  • Monaco (42.3)
  • Netherlands (26.5)
  • Norway (6.5)
  • Poland (20.9)
  • Portugal  (26.1)
  • Romania (85.6)
  • San Marino (49.3)
  • Slovakia (7.2)
  • Slovenia (9.1)
  • Spain (79.8)
  • Sweden (31.3)
  • Switzerland (24.6)
  • United Kingdom (15,7)
  • Vatican (0.0)

*According to Government of the Republic Order No. 172, the restriction on the freedom of movement is not applied in cases where a country's number of positive tests per 100,000 inhabitants remains between 16 to 17.6, during a period of two weeks.

Estonia currently has an infection rate of 2.6 per 100,000 people.

Travelers from Australia have to follow the 14-day self-quarantine rule on arrival in Estonia.

Travelers from Canada, Georgia, Japan, South Korea, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and New Zealand do not have to undergo quarantine when traveling to Estonia.

The Council of the EU updated the list of non-EU countries on August 7.

The Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs strongly advises against international travel with the exception of European countries with a reported rate of 16 per 100,000 or below.

Self-quarantining means a person can only leave their place of residence or permanent place of stay after arriving in Estonia to obtain food, medicine, and other essentials, through a 14-day period. Individuals may also leave their home if instructed to by a healthcare professional. More information can be found on the Police and Border Guard Board's website.

If international travel is unavoidable, the foreign ministry recommends looking at its website when planning international travel, registering with the ministry, and checking coronavirus travel restrictions in the destination country.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: