Mandatory quarantine for travelers from five EU/EEA countries from Monday

Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Tallinn.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Tallinn. Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Arrivals from five countries in the European Union and European Economic Area must, from Monday, self-quarantine for 14 days when coming to Estonia, bringing the total number down from seven. The countries are Sweden, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Portugal and Belgium, all of whose reported COVID-19 infection rates are at a level set by the Estonian government to require quarantining.

New additions to the list of countries of origin whose travelers do not need to quarantine are France and Malta, whose reported infection rates recently fell below the 15 per 100,000 residents in the preceding 14 days.

  • Austria,
  • Bulgaria,
  • Cyprus,
  • Denmark,
  • Finland,
  • France,
  • Germany,
  • Greece,
  • Hungary,
  • Ireland,
  • Iceland,
  • Hungary,
  • Italy,
  • Lithuania,
  • Liechtenstein,
  • Luxembourg,
  • Latvia,
  • the Netherlands,
  • Norway,
  • Poland,
  • Romania,
  • Slovakia,
  • Slovenia,
  • Spain,
  • Swiss Confederation.

The government approved the reopening of Estonia's borders to travelers from EU/EEA/Schengen Zone countries provided the country meets the coronavirus rate benchmark noted above. Additionally, the arrivee should have been a minimum of 14 days in the country of origin, before arriving – in other words an arrival from the U.K., for example, who flew from Britain to Riga, would have to spend 14 days in quarantine one way or another, on either side of the Estonian/Latvian border.

The arrivee must also exhibit no symptoms of COVID-19; if they do, they would naturally have to be quarantined.

The list of eligible countries of origin for arrivals is updated each week, with any changes coming into effect on Mondays.

The foreign ministry's site is here.

Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: