Arrivals from seven European countries subject to quarantine

Travelers. Source: Siim Lõvi/ERR

Based on coronavirus infection rates, starting from Monday, July 13, a two-week self-isolation requirement will apply to people arriving in Estonia from Sweden, Portugal, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic and Luxembourg.

Beginning next week, self-isolation will no be compulsory for passengers arriving from the United Kingdom, Austria, Belgium, Spain, the Netherlands, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Norway, Poland, France, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark and Hungary if they have spent at least 14 days in these countries shortly before coming to Estonia, spokespeople for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs told BNS on Friday.

Additionally, based on Council of the European Union recommendations, Estonia's borders are open to 14 countries outside the EU, i.e. third countries, that have a low infection rate: Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay. People arriving from Montenegro and Serbia, however, are required to self-isolate for two weeks.

Information about countries and requirements can be found on the ministry's website.

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs nonetheless urges people avoid traveling, except to European countries where there have been 16 or fewer infected people per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days and that are on the list of countries from which people arriving in Estonia are not required to self-isolate.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Aili Vahtla

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: