More than 43,000 passengers used Tallinn Airport in first weeks of July ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

Tallinn Airport (Picture is illustrative)
Tallinn Airport (Picture is illustrative) Source: Priit Mürk/ERR

Passengers who passed through Tallinn Airport during the first few weeks of July numbered 43,373 - over 18,000 more than during the whole month of June.

The average load factor per flight has also increased but remains around 50 percent, spokespeople for Tallinn Airport said on Monday.

As of July 20, flights were available on 24 routes with Riga, Frankfurt and Vienna being the most popular destinations during the first weeks of the month.

CCO of Tallinn Airport, Eero Pärgmäe said: "We have collected feedback from our passengers and studied the situation in various European destinations. The feedback has been very positive and what's most important - traveling today is possible without having to queue up at art galleries, prices for accommodation and at cafes and restaurants are reasonable and keeping a distance from others is easy due to there being few tourists."

The Hungarian budget carrier Wizz Air began operating flights to Milan on Saturday, July 18, and the British airline Easyjet has announced it will begin servicing the routes to London and Berlin this week.

Service will also be restored on routes to Kyiv, Kharkiv and Lviv in July. Flights to Moscow, Istanbul and Brussels will reopen in August.

Based on the coronavirus infection rate, starting from Monday, July 20, a mandatory two-week self-isolation applies to passengers arriving from Andorra, Bulgaria, Croatia, Iceland, Luxembourg, Portugal, Sweden, Romania, Spain and San Marino, spokespeople for the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said.

Starting from this week, passengers traveling from the European Union to Estonia will not have to self-isolate if they arrive from Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, Ireland, Italy, Greece, Cyprus, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Latvia, Norway, Poland, France, Malta, Germany, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland, Switzerland, Denmark, the Czech Republic and Hungary.

Additionally, based on the recommendation of the Council of the European Union, Estonia's borders are open to countries outside the European Union that have a low infection rate. Residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay can travel to Estonia.

Due to the spread of the coronavirus, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs urges that travel be avoided, except to European countries where there have been 16 or fewer infected people per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days and that are on the list of countries from which people arriving in Estonia are not required to self-isolate.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Roberta Vaino

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: