Austria, France, Malta, Switzerland added to ministry quarantine list

The foreign affairs ministry in Tallinn.
The foreign affairs ministry in Tallinn. Source: Marko Mumm/ Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Four European countries, Austria, France, Malta and Switzerland, have been added to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' list of countries of origin for travelers arriving in Estonia who must self-quarantine for 14 days. No countries have been removed from last week's list, and travelers from the United Kingdom remain free of any self-quarantining requirement. The updated list comes into effect on Monday.

The requirements also reflect a recently updated EU list which says travelers from Australia, Canada and Morocco must self-quarantine, but those from New Zealand, Georgia and several other countries outside Europe do not need to.

A country is added to the quarantine list if the reported rate of coronavirus is more than 16 new infections per 100,000 inhabitants over the preceding 14 days.

Last week Austria and Switzerland were on the no quarantine added list, but have both been added to it this week.

The full, updated list with reported COVID-19 rates per 100,000 inhabitants is below and takes effect from Monday, August 3. It can also be viewed on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

Arrivals from countries in bold must undergo 14 days' quarantine upon arrival in Estonia.

  • Andorra 59
  • Austria 19.7
  • Belgium 35.8
  • Bulgaria 46.8
  • Croatia 25.3
  • Czech Republic 25.6
  • Cyprus  6.1
  • Denmark 10.4
  • Finland 2.4
  • France 19.0
  • Germany 8.4
  • Greece  4.3
  • Hungary  2.3
  • Iceland 10.1
  • Ireland 6.7
  • Italy 5.7
  • Latvia 2.6
  • Liechtenstein 10.4
  • Lithuania 5.7
  • Luxembourg 243.4
  • Malta 28.4
  • Monaco 33.2
  • Netherlands 15.1
  • Norway 3.0
  • Poland 15.7
  • Portugal 30.2
  • Romania 75.1
  • San Marino 5.8
  • Slovakia 5.8
  • Slovenia 11.6
  • Spain 53.6
  • Sweden 31.5
  • Switzerland 20.2
  • United Kingdom 12.6
  • Vatican 0.0

Outside of Europe, travelers from Australia, Canada and Morocco will also have to self-quarantine upon arrival in Estonia from next week.

Travelers from Georgia, Japan, South Korea, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay and New Zealand do not have to undergo quarantine when traveling to Estonia.

The Council of the EU updated the list of non-EU countries on July 30.

The Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs strongly advises against international travel with the exception of European countries with a reported rate of 16 per 100,000 or below.

Self-quarantining means a person can only leave their place of residence or permanent place of stay after arriving in Estonia to obtain food, medicine, and other essentials, through a 14-day period. Individuals may also leave their home if instructed to by a healthcare professional. More information can be found on the Police and Border Guard Board's website.

If international travel is unavoidable, the foreign ministry recommends looking at its website when planning international travel, registering with the ministry, and checking coronavirus travel restrictions in the destination country.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: