Estonia's Covid travel restrictions on arrivals from Monday, January 17

A coronavirus testing sign at Tallinn Airport.
A coronavirus testing sign at Tallinn Airport. Source: Priit Mürk/ERR

With the exception of the Vatican City State, from Monday, January 17 2022, all European countries are on Estonia's travel restrictions "Red" list, meaning unvaccinated individuals must quarantine 10 days on arrival. Romania, previously on the "Green" list (no restrictions) has moved down two levels to the "Red" list, while no countries appear on the intermediate "Yellow" list.

Arrivals should fill in an online passenger declaration form before arrival.

Travel restrictions entering into effect on Mondays are based on a state's 14-day Covid rate per 100,000 inhabitants as reported the previous Friday.

Estonia's own 14-day Covid rate is currently 1,699.5 per 100,000.

The "traffic light" list of states, their Covid rates and the restrictions entering into effect on Monday, January 17, are as follows.

Green list

14-day coronavirus rate of less than 75 per 100,000 inhabitants.

  • Vatican 0.00*

No restriction on movement.

*In practice, arrivals from the Vatican are likely to have traveled via Italy, currently on the "Red" list in any case.

Yellow list

14-day coronavirus rate of 75-200 per 100,000 inhabitants.

  • There are no states on the yellow list as of Monday, January 10 2022.

Arrivals from yellow list countries must present proof of vaccination, a negative test or recovery from the virus.

PCR tests must have been taken within 72 hours of arrival and antigen tests within 48 hours.

Arrivals without a negative test certificate can take a test on arrival and quarantine while awaiting results.

Red list

14-day coronavirus rate of 201 per 100,000 inhabitants and over.

  • Andorra 6,827.5
  • Austria 818.43
  • Belgium 2,021.32
  • Bulgaria 644.74
  • Croatia 1,682.80
  • Czech Republic  773.92
  • Cyprus 5,571.59
  • Denmark 3,350.35
  • Finland 1,665.94
  • France 4,223.05
  • Germany 644.14
  • Greece 4,099.51
  • Hungary 535.27
  • Iceland 4,331.92
  • Ireland 4,912.62
  • Italy 2,298.71
  • Latvia 860.73
  • Liechtenstein 2,000.15
  • Lithuania 1,657.10
  • Luxembourg 2,615.20
  • Malta 2,535.16
  • Monaco 1,531.4
  • Netherlands 1,599.58
  • Norway 1,326.37
  • Poland 437.65
  • Portugal 3,631.19
  • Romania 227.63
  • San Marino 4918.3
  • Slovakia 699.94
  • Slovenia 1,742.82
  • Spain 2,989.18
  • Sweden  1,778.38
  • Switzerland 3,211.0
  • United Kingdom 3,407.2

Non-vaccinated arrivals from Red list countries must quarantine for 10 days on arrival.

Tests must be taken on arrival and on day six. If both are negative, quarantine can be shortened.

Vaccinated people do not need to test.

More information is available on the government's website.

The data is compiled by the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control and released on Friday morning. The list takes effect the following Monday.

The current Covid travel restrictions regime, in place until midnight Sunday, January 16, is here.


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: