MEPs Ansip, Mikser, Terras appointed members of AI committee ({{contentCtrl.commentsTotal}})

The driverless bus which started operating in Kadriorg Park Wednesday.
The driverless bus which started operating in Kadriorg Park Wednesday. Source: Siim Lõvi /ERR

Estonian members of the European Parliament Andrus Ansip, Sven Mikser and Riho Terras have been appointed members of a newly established special committee on artificial intelligence.

On Friday, the European Parliament announced the compositions of new committees with Estonian MEPs Ansip, Mikser and Terras appointed as members of the special committee on artificial intelligence.

The special committee on artificial intelligence will study the impact and challenges of rolling out AI, and propose a roadmap with objectives for the EU in the field of AI and the steps that need to be taken to achieve them.

In autumn 2020, a tax subcommittee, three special committees dealing with cancer, artificial intelligence and foreign interference including disinformation will begin work in the European Parliament. A committee of inquiry to investigate animal transport started in June.

The tax subcommittee will deal with the fight against tax fraud, tax evasion and tax avoidance, as well as financial transparency for taxation purposes.

The special committee on beating cancer is tasked with evaluating opportunities for the EU to take concrete action, identifying legislation and other measures that can help prevent and fight cancer, and looking into the best ways to support research, among others.

The special committee on foreign interference in all democratic processes in the EU, including disinformation is tasked with thoroughly analyzing the investigations that showed that crucial electoral rules were breached or circumvented. It will have to identify possible areas that would require legislative and non-legislative actions vis-a-vis social media platforms, to suggest coordinated action at EU level for tackling hybrid threats, and to counter information campaigns and strategic communication of malign third countries that harm the EU.

The committee of inquiry on alleged contraventions and maladministration in animal transport will primarily investigate the alleged failure of the Commission and of member states to effectively enforce numerous EU rules related to animal transport within the EU and beyond its borders.

Each special committee is composed of 33 members, whereas the subcommittee and committee of inquiry have 30 members each. The term of office of each special committee may not exceed 12 moths. Special committees, committees of inquiry and subcommittees cannot adopt legislative texts.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Kristjan Kallaste

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: