Music industry presents rescue plan of €8 million to government


Nine Estonian music organizations have turned to the government with proposals which they say would help their sector out of the crisis. The rescue plan would cost €8 million.

In their proposal, the music organizations presented a plan which consists of a short-term crisis exit measure, pluslong-term measures for the creative world's recovery.

As short-term solutions, covering fixed costs, creating a risk fund for the cultural event were highlighted As long-term solutions, reduction of VAT to support the institutions on the recovery plan.

"The creative industry forms 3 percent of our GDP and contributes significantly to other industries, so it is especially important that as quickly as possible, additional solutions are found," head of Live Music Estonia, Henri Roosipõld, said.

The music sector asked for €8 million for coping with the effects of the restrictions established due to the coronavirus, as well as reducing VAT to 9 percent from concert tickets and increasing EU funding for the next budget period in the field of creative industries and culture.

The appeal was signed by the Estonian Authors' Association (Chairman of the Board Vaiko Eplik), the Estonian Performers' Union (Managing Director Urmas Ambur), the Estonian Phonogram Producers' Association (Managing Director Rauno Haabmets), the Estonian Jazz Association (Chairman Kirke Karja), the Estonian Concert (Kertu Orro), the Estonian Choir Association (chairman Hirvo Surva), Estonian music festivals (chairman of the board Villu Veski), Estonian Association of Large Concert Organizers (board member Mart Eensalu) and Music Estonia (CEO and board member Ave Tölpt).

The appeal was addressed to Prime Minister Kaja Kallas (Reform), Minister of Finance Keit Pentus-Rosimannus (Reform),, Minister of Enterprise and Information Technology Andres Sutt (Reform), Minister of Economic Affairs and Infrastructure Taavi Aas (Cener), Minister of Culture Anneli Ott (Center), Chairman of the Finance Committee Erki Savisaar (Center) and Chairman of the Culture Committee Aadu Must (Center).


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Roberta Vaino

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: