Travel restrictions for arrivals to Estonia, March 1-7

Coronavirus testing line at Tallinn Airport. Source: Siim Lõvi /ERR

Travelers arriving from eight countries do not need to quarantine on arrival to Estonia from Monday, March 1.

The restriction on the freedom of movement does not apply to passengers arriving from a country with an infection rate below 150 per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days.

This means arrivals from Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Iceland, Greece, Liechtenstein, Norway and Finland can skip quarantine. All other travelers must quarantine for 10 days on arrival.

Travelers arriving from the following counties need to quarantine: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

Exceptions are in place for travelers from Latvia and Lithuania, which can be read here.

A list of European countries' infection rates is shown below.

  • Andorra 588,1
  • Austria 228,0
  • Belgium 244,8
  • Bulgaria 186,0
  • Croatia 112,0
  • Czech Republic 1120,0
  • Cyprus 169,0
  • Denmark 110,0
  • Finland 111,5
  • France 398,3
  • Germany 123,1
  • Greece 147,9
  • Hungary 286,5
  • Iceland 8,0
  • Ireland 231,4
  • Italy 289,2
  • Latvia 509,5*
  • Liechtenstein 61,9
  • Lithuania 261,1*
  • Luxembourg 365,8
  • Malta 404,0
  • Monaco 649,8
  • Netherlands 302,9
  • Norway 70,0
  • Poland 226,8
  • Portugal 287,6
  • Romania 171,0
  • San Marino 972,3
  • Slovakia 526,0
  • Slovenia 513,7
  • Spain 348,4
  • Sweden 435,2
  • Switzerland 174,8
  • Vatican 0.0**

Estonia's infection rate is currently 887.75 per 100,000 inhabitants, the second highest in Europe.

Arrivals from the United Kingdom

Passengers arriving in Estonia from the United Kingdom must test within 72 hours of arrival and geta a negative result. The test is not compulsory for children under the age of 12.

A 10-day self-isolation is also mandatory for passengers arriving from the United Kingdom. The rule applies even in cases when the passenger has only transited through the United Kingdom on their way to Estonia. The period of self-isolation can be shortened if in addition to the first negative test, a second test taken 7 days after arrival is also negative.

Self-isolation is not required for anyone who has:

(1) suffered from COVID-19 and no more than six months have passed since they have been declared cured;

(2) have undergone COVID-19 vaccination and no more than six months have passed since its completion.

Reducing self isolation

The following rules apply to reducing the period of self-isolation both when arriving from Europe and other regions, except for third country nationals arriving in Estonia for work or studies:

(1) Anyone unwilling to self-isolate for 10 days after their arrival in Estonia can take a PCR test abroad no earlier than 72 hours before their arrival in Estonia. While in Estonia, a second test can be taken no earlier than on the sixth day after the first test. The 10-day isolation period can be concluded earlier if both tests are negative.

(2) Anyone who has not taken a test up to 72 hours before their arrival in Estonia can take one immediately after their arrival and the second test no earlier than six days after their first test. The 10-day isolation period can be concluded earlier if both tests are negative.

Information about the conditions that apply to the test certificate is available HERE. For booking a second test, passengers can contact the call centre for public testing (678 0000).

Details about testing are available of the website

Arrivals from third countries

It is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

A 10-day self-isolation is mandatory for passengers arriving from countries with an infection rate above 16 people per 100 000 inhabitants in the past 14 days.

Other third country nationals arriving for work or for studies are subject to the 10-day mandatory self-isolation. They must take a coronavirus test immediately after arriving in Estonia and a second test no earlier than six days after the first test. Testing does not grant the right to stop self-isolating before the mandatory period ends.


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: