Margus Tsahkna elected new chair of Eesti 200

{{1700394420000 | amCalendar}}

In a general congress of Eesti 200, Margus Tsahkna was elected as the new head of the party on Sunday.

The new chair was elected in lieu of the recently resigned Lauri Hussar. Next to Tsahkna, film director Arko Okk also run for the chair.

During the vote, 112 party members supported Tsahkna and 14 members voted for Okk. A total of 133 ballot papers were issued, of which 131 reached the ballot box, of which five were spoiled.

Okk proposed to the general congress to count the ballots openly, with 42 Eesti 200 members voted in favor and 64 voted against this.

Hussar's reason for stepping down as leader of Eesti 200 is his wish to concentrate on his work as speaker of the Riigikogu. He said that the party, which has 927 members, must expand and advocated for the consolidation of regional organizations and the establishment of new divisions.

Eesti 200 ministers Kristina Kallas, Tiit Riisalo and Margus Tsahkna told the general congress that the governing coalition is having a hard time with the adoption of the state budget and associated legislation.

"In my experience, coalitions do not disintegrate in response to external pressure; so I am very hopeful that our coalition partners are self-assured," Tsahkna said.

Toomas Uibo, leader of the parliamentary group, and Mihkel Mooste, leader of the party's youth organization, also spoke at the congress.

The new leader of Eesti 200 was announced today by 4 p.m.

ERR journalist Johannes Voltri said that one of the party's founders, Kristina Tõnnisson, major financier Priit Alamäe and Joakim Helenius, a major businessman and financier who has been highly critical of the party, did not show up at the congress.


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Mait Ots, Kristina Kersa

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: