Laadi alla uus Eesti Raadio äpp, kust leiad kõik ERRi raadiojaamad, suure muusikavaliku ja podcastid.

Sixty crews register for Rally Estonia

A total of 60 crews have registered for Rally Estonia, the fourth stage of the FIA World Rally Championship 2020 which will be raced on Estonian roads from September 4-6.

After an almost six-month break in the WRC series, the fourth stage of this year's championship will bring the absolute top of WRC to Estonia. The competitors will represent 25 nations in total. 

In addition to the WRC series event, Rally Estonia will also feature WRC2, WRC3 and Junior WRC stages.

Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT, the current leader of the WRC team championship, is about to field four crews: current WRC leaders Sebastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia, along with Elfyn Evans and Scott Martin, Kalle Rovanpera and Jonne Halttunen, and Takamoto Katsuta and Daniel Barritt.

The list submitted by Hyundai Motorsport includes tree crews: Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja, Thierry Neuville and Nicolas Gilsoul, as well as Craig Breen and Paul Nagle. The crew to compete for Hyundai 2C Competition are Pierre-Louis Loubet and Vincent Landais, for whom this will be the first start with a WRC car in the World Championship series.

The M-Sport Ford World Rally Team will also field three crews: Esapekka Lappi and Janne Ferm, Teemu Suninen and Jarmo Lehtinen, Gus Greensmith and Elliot Edmondson.

Altogether 13 WRC cars have been registered for Rally Estonia. In addition to the crews mentioned above, the competitors will include Georg Gross and Raigo Molder with a Ford Fiesta WRC and Finns Kimmo Kurkela and Reeta Hamalainen also with a Ford Fiesta.

There are in total 28 R5 vehicles, which compete in the WRC2 and WRC3 series, among the vehicles registered. They include the vehicles of several Estonian crews in the WRC3 category of private teams.

These crews are Raul Jeets and Andrus Toom with a Skoda Fabia R5 EVO, Roland Poom and Erik Lepikson with a Ford Fiesta R5, Estonian Karl Kruuda and Australian co-pilot Dale Moscatt with a Volkswagen Polo R5, Rainer Aus and Simo Koskinen with a Skoda Fabia R5, Egon Kaur and Silver Simm with a Skoda Fabia R5, Priit Koik and Uku Heldna with a Ford Fiesta R5, Georg Linnamae and Ukrainian co-pilot Volodymyr Korsya with a Volkswagen Polo R5, and Gustav Kruuda and Ken Järveoja with a Volkswagen Polo R5.

Their rivals in the race will include the absolute top of the R5 class, most notably Rally Estonia winner Mads Ostberg and Torsten Eriksen with a Citroen DS3 R5, Nikolai Gryazin and Konstantin Aleksandrov with a Hyundai i20 R5, Oliver Solberg and Aaron Johnston with a Volkswagen Polo R5, as well as several others.

In the Junior WRC class there are 12 crews on the list of competitors. Of Estonians, they include Ken Torn and Kauri Pannas, winners of their class in the recent FIA ERC stage in Liepaja, Latvia, who are third in the current Junior WRC championship after the first stage held in Sweden.

Both the current Junior WRC leaders, Swedes Tom Kristensson and Joakim Sjoberg, and the crew in second place, Latvians Martins Sesks and Renars Francis, have registered for Rally Estonia.

Rally Estonia, the first ever FIA WRC stage held in Estonia, will take place on the roads of Tartu, Otepää, Elva, Kanepi and Kambja.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: