Travelers from eight countries can skip quarantine from February 22

Travelers at Tallinn Airport waiting to take a coronavirus test.
Travelers at Tallinn Airport waiting to take a coronavirus test. Source: ERR / Johannes Tralla

Arrivals in Estonia from eight countries do not have to quarantine on arrival from Monday, February 22, an increase of one on the previous week.

From February 22 to 28, arrivals from Croatia, Denmark, Germany, Iceland, Greece, Liechtenstein, Norway and Finland do not need to quarantine on arrival, as their infection rates fall below the 150 per 100,000 inhabitants benchmark. Croatia, Germany and Liechtenstein are new additions to the list on last week, whereas Bulgaria's coronavirus rate has now risen beyond the limit and arrivals from that country in Estonia must now quarantine

The restriction on the freedom of movement applies to passengers arriving from the following countries: Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia*, Lithuania*, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. The infection rate of the Vatican is 0 but anyone travelling to Estonia from there through Italy is subject to the 10-day restriction on the freedom of movement.

*There are exceptions for arrivals from Latvia, Lithuania and Finland which can be read on the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' website.

Arrivals from the United Kingdom

Passengers arriving in Estonia from the U.K. are subject to an additional obligation to test for COVID-19 up to 72 hours before their arrival in Estonia, and the result must be negative.

The test is not compulsory for children under the age of 12.

A 10-day self-isolation period is also mandatory for passengers arriving from the U.K.

The rule applies even in cases when the passenger has only transited through the U.K. on their way to Estonia.

The period of self-isolation can be shortened if, in addition to the first negative test, a second test taken seven days after arrival is also negative.

There are exceptions for people who have recovered from COVID-19 in the last six months or those who have been vaccinated. This information can be read on the foreign ministry's website.

Rules for third countries 

It is possible to travel to Estonia from Australia, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, and Thailand.

A 10-day self-isolation is mandatory for passengers arriving from countries with an infection rate above 16 people per 100,000 inhabitants over the past 14 days.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises against any non-essential international travel

In cases where traveling is essential, the Foreign Ministry advises keeping the following in mind:

  • Consult the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website for the latest information;
  • Follow the Health Board's instructions for a safe flight;
  • Contact your GP if you display symptoms;
  • Check your travel insurance;
  • Fill out the electronic declaration before arrival to Estonia;
  • Follow instructions in your destination


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Andrew Whyte

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: