Kaljulaid visits Latvia to mark diplomatic relations centenary

President of Estonia Kersti Kaljulaid and President of Latvia Egils Levits.
President of Estonia Kersti Kaljulaid and President of Latvia Egils Levits. Source: Office of the President of Latvia.

President Kersti Kaljulaid and President of Latvia Egils Levits marked the centenary of the two countries' de jure diplomatic relations in Riga on Tuesday.

Writing about her visit on Twitter, Kaljulaid said there are always more topics to discuss than time allows. COVID-19, close cooperation and the re-establishment of the Baltic Bubble were on the agenda on Tuesday.

The pair also discussed digital transformation in the EU, the green revolution and the Three Seas Initiative.

Kaljulaid will visit Lithuania on Tuesday to mark the two countries' de jure relations, which take place on the same day and the Latvian and Lithuanian flags were flown at Kadriorg to mark the anniversary.


On March 2, 1921, Latvia and Lithuania recognized the Republic of Estonia de jure. Estonia had recognized the republics of Latvia and Lithuania de jure in February 1921. By that time, Estonia had won the War of Independence and attained de jure recognition from major powers, so now formal diplomatic communication according to established rules could begin between the three countries.

Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have always recognized each other as sovereign and independent states from the moment they declared independence.

Just like Estonia, some foreign representations of Latvia and Lithuania also remained open in the free world after the Second World War and continued to operate throughout the occupation period. For example, in the United States, the embassies of Latvia and Lithuania continued to work in Washington and Estonia's consulate general remained open in New York. The diplomats working there often coordinated their actions protected the interests of citizens and preserved the legal continuity of the Baltic States.

In 1991, after liberation from the Soviet occupation, the countries recognized each other again and restored diplomatic relations.

Today, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have close contacts in the European Union, NATO, the Three Seas Initiative, the Council of Baltic Sea States, as well as Baltic (3B) and Nordic-Baltic cooperation (NB8) and in other international cooperation formats. 


Follow ERR News on Facebook and Twitter and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: