23 members of parliament initiate bill to ban fur farms

People holding signs at a protest against fur farming.
People holding signs at a protest against fur farming. Source: (Martin Dremljuga/ERR)

Twenty-three members of parliament on Thursday initiated a bill of amendments to the Animal Protection Act, which seeks to ban fur farms in Estonia by 2023.

Social Democratic Party (SDE) MP Jevgeni Ossinovski, who submitted the bill on behalf of the other MPs, said it is gratifying that there are more initiators this time than ever before.

"Animal welfare issues are becoming more and more important to the Estonian people and this is also reflected in a much more positive attitude among members of the Riigikogu," Ossinovski said.

"It is time to put an end to the cruel treatment of animals just to wear them on our backs or heads as a luxury! Not to mention the adverse environmental effects that this industry inevitably has," he added.

Reform Party MP Yoko Alender said both the consumption choices of people and the sharp decline in fur farming due to the lack of a market prove that, as a society, we no longer tolerate the industry or the torture of animals for profit or vain hat bobbles.

Center Party MP Siret Kotka-Repinski said: "A lot of namely small details - key chains, pen tips and hat bobbles - are made from the fur of animals slaughtered at fur farms. The clothing industry has long offered alternative options without having to kill animals,"

According to a Kantar Emor survey commissioned by NGO Loomus, altogether 69 percent of the people of Estonia are in favor of stopping the operation of fur farms.

The 23 MPs who initiated the bill seeking to ban fur farms include members of three parliamentary groups -- the bill was signed by Social Democrats Jevgeni Ossinovski, Helmen Kutt, Raimond Kaljulaid, Riina Sikkut, Indrek Saar, Heljo Pikhof, Kalvi Kova, Katri Raik, Jaak Juske and Lauri Laanemets, Reform Party MPs Yoko Alender, Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Jürgen Ligi, Signe Riisalo, Jüri Jaanson, Toomas Kivimägi, Johannes Kert, Madis Milling and Mart Võrklaev and Center Party MPs Siret Kotka-Repinski, Andrei Korobeinik and Oudekki Loone.


Download the ERR News app for Android and iOS now and never miss an update!

Editor: Helen Wright

Hea lugeja, näeme et kasutate vanemat brauseri versiooni või vähelevinud brauserit.

Parema ja terviklikuma kasutajakogemuse tagamiseks soovitame alla laadida uusim versioon mõnest meie toetatud brauserist: